Sea Life
Deep Sea Fishes
Sea Turtles
Sea Lion
Sea Monkeys
Sea Otter
Sea Birds
Sea Snakes
Sea Dragons
Sea Eagles
Sea Anemone
Sea Bass
Sea Whales
Sea Spider
Sea Mammals
Sea Amphibians
Sea Crabs
Sea Reptiles

In the Sea
Sea Shells
Sea Sponges
Sea Caves
Sea Coral
Sea Cucumbers

Sea Pictures and Wallpapers
Pictures of the Sea
Sea Wallpapers

Other Sea Information
Deep Sea Diving
Deep Sea Research
Marine Biology
Naval Sea Systems
Sea Exploration
Sea Grape
Sea Level Rise

Oceans and Seas
Indian Ocean
Southern Ocean
Atlantic Ocean
Arctic Ocean
Pacific Ocean
Baltic Sea
The Aral Sea
The Caspian Sea
Japan Sea
Red Sea
Okhotsk Sea
North Sea
Dead Sea
Yellow Sea
Caribbean Sea
Andaman Sea
Mediterranean Sea
Black Sea
Barents Sea
Kara Sea
Kara Sea


Seal Seals are mammals which belong to the family of Pinnipeds. These sea animals can be found in the water of all over the world from Arctic Ocean to Antarctic Ocean. There are three different families in the family of Pinnipeds namely Otaridae (or ear seals), Odobenidae (or the walrus) and Phocidae (or earless seals). Pinnipeds have sleek and barrel-shaped body. They have short and wide flippers. These creatures can grow up to a size of 4 meters and weigh up to 4000 kilograms. Their weight and size depends on the family to which they belong.

Pinnipeds Family or Types of Seals
The three families of the Pinnipeds are as follows:

  • Otariidae
    These seals are also known as eared seals or walking seals. In this family the animals like fur seals or sea lions are included. These eared seals have external ears and a snout that resembles to the snout of a dog. Moreover, their fore flippers are larger compared to the earless seals.
  • Phocidae
    These seals are also known as earless seals, true seals or phocids. They have streamlined snouts and the internal ears are absent in these creatures. The rear flipper of these species is more developed than the front flippers and they use flippers efficiently while swimming.
  • Odobenidae
    These species are commonly known as walrus. They have long tusks and are bulky in their size. These animals do not have external ears and they like to feed on clams unlike other families of seals.

In the seals family, all the seals are found to be carnivores by nature. They feed mainly on crustaceans, fish and shellfish. These species feed on different prey depending on the season or availability. The only predator of these large gigantic seals is the killer whales, which eat these seals.

Seals Reproduction
The reproduction process in the seals takes place on the land as well as in water, but the young ones are born on the land. The male of these species, mate with as many females as they possibly can. It takes about nine months for the pup to fully develop and then they are born. After the birth of the pups, the mothers take care of their pups. The mother has a sense of smell and they make a call which helps them to communicate between each other. The mother feeds milk for a month to her pups. After that when the pups start eating on their own they are left by their mother to live on their own. These creatures can have a life span of about 50 years, but it depends on the environment in which they are.

Interesting Facts
Some of the interesting facts about these species are as follows

  • They can hold breath for a long time.
  • They can even sleep underwater.
  • Their skin is protected by thick layer of blubber and a thick fur coat.
  • They have large round eyes.
  • These animals have an excellent sense of smell.

Seals are very curious animals and sometimes follow boats. People think that these are lazy creatures, but this is not the fact. Actually, they are more active in water compared to land. This is a creature which is very interesting to know about.