F Nudibranch : Sea Slug, Nudibranch Varieties, About Nudibranch

Sea Life
Deep Sea Fishes
Sea Turtles
Sea Lion
Sea Monkeys
Sea Otter
Sea Birds
Sea Snakes
Sea Dragons
Sea Eagles
Sea Anemone
Sea Bass
Sea Whales
Sea Spider
Sea Mammals
Sea Amphibians
Sea Crabs
Sea Reptiles

In the Sea
Sea Shells
Sea Sponges
Sea Caves
Sea Coral
Sea Cucumbers

Sea Pictures and Wallpapers
Pictures of the Sea
Sea Wallpapers

Other Sea Information
Deep Sea Diving
Deep Sea Research
Marine Biology
Naval Sea Systems
Sea Exploration
Sea Grape
Sea Level Rise

Oceans and Seas
Indian Ocean
Southern Ocean
Atlantic Ocean
Arctic Ocean
Pacific Ocean
Baltic Sea
The Aral Sea
The Caspian Sea
Japan Sea
Red Sea
Okhotsk Sea
North Sea
Dead Sea
Yellow Sea
Caribbean Sea
Andaman Sea
Mediterranean Sea
Black Sea
Barents Sea
Kara Sea
Kara Sea



About Nudibranch :
Nudibranch (Nudibranchia), are the marine creatures which belong to the suborder of marine gastropod mollusks. They are often called as "slugs", but all the sea slugs do not belong to the suborder Opisthobranchia. They got their name from the Latin words "nudus" and "brankhia" meaning naked and gills respectively. They have extraordinary colors, which make them very attractive. These fish are found in the sea all over the world. They have bilaterally symmetrical body. Their eyes are set in to the body and are about a quarter of a millimeter. They have tentacles, which are very sensitive. They grow up to a size of (20 to 600) millimeters. They have cephalic tentacles and these tentacles are sensitive to taste, touch and smell. They are found generally at all depths of salt water but they like to live in the warm and shallow waters. And also, they grow better in the warm and shallow water. They are found in the sea all over the world. They have two tentacles, which are highly sensitive and help them to catch their prey. They are carnivores and feed generally on sponges, bryozoans, barnacles, anemones, etc. The swimming nudibranch seems to be very attractive. The reproduction process is quite different in these species. Nudibranchs are hermaphroditic, which has reproductive organs for both sexes. They can mate with any mature member of their species. They deposit their eggs within a gelatinous spiral.

Nudibranch Varieties :

Berghia nudibranch :
These are little creatures. They have sensory organ called as rhinophores and with these they can find even smallest Aiptasia. They have a characteristic that they can reproduce very quickly. They lay eggs on the daily basis.

Lettuce nudibranch :
They are also the tiny creatures, which grow up to a size of 1 inch. They are green and have ruffles on its back. They are peaceful creatures and feed on algae generally.

Yellow Nudibranch :
These are one of the most colorful species of their family. They have small body and feed generally on small invertebrates. They have a gill by which it extracts oxygen from the water.

Blue velvet nudibranch :
The blue velvet nudibranch is a deep sea fish black with blue lines around its body. It is a carnivore and its origin is Western Pacific.

Aeolid nudibranch :
Aeolid nudibranch is the creatures, which are found generally in Antarctica. They grow up to a size of 40 cm.

Dorid nudibranch :
These species is of purplish color and grows up to a size of about 2 inches. They are found in Thailand, western Pacific and Indian Ocean.

Blue dragon nudibranch :
These creatures are about (3-5) cm in length. They are found often near shores, reefs and coral rubble. They have a long, narrow and soft body with projections like that of a finger.

Frosted Nudibranch :
These species are soft-bodied. Also, they are shell-less marine creatures. They vary in size from (20 to 600) mm. They feed on bryozoans, sea anemones and ascidians.