Sea Life
Deep Sea Fishes
Sea Turtles
Sea Lion
Sea Monkeys
Sea Otter
Sea Birds
Sea Snakes
Sea Dragons
Sea Eagles
Sea Anemone
Sea Bass
Sea Whales
Sea Spider
Sea Mammals
Sea Amphibians
Sea Crabs
Sea Reptiles

In the Sea
Sea Shells
Sea Sponges
Sea Caves
Sea Coral
Sea Cucumbers

Sea Pictures and Wallpapers
Pictures of the Sea
Sea Wallpapers

Other Sea Information
Deep Sea Diving
Deep Sea Research
Marine Biology
Naval Sea Systems
Sea Exploration
Sea Grape
Sea Level Rise

Oceans and Seas
Indian Ocean
Southern Ocean
Atlantic Ocean
Arctic Ocean
Pacific Ocean
Baltic Sea
The Aral Sea
The Caspian Sea
Japan Sea
Red Sea
Okhotsk Sea
North Sea
Dead Sea
Yellow Sea
Caribbean Sea
Andaman Sea
Mediterranean Sea
Black Sea
Barents Sea
Kara Sea
Kara Sea



The genus name Nauplius was first published by Otto Friedrich Muller in 1785 for the animals which are known today to be the larvae of copecods The main characteristics of this stage is the use of antennae for swimming. The Nauplius is the stage at which the simple and unpaired eye appears first. Therefore, the eye is known as the 'Naupliar eye'.

Nauplius larva
A nauplius(plural nauplii) is the first larva of animals, which is classified as crustaceans. Nauplius larvae belong to the group of Arthropods. It consists of a thorax and abdomen, head and telson. A very prominent characteristic of nauplii is that they have only one compound eye, and in later stages, it divides into two. The nauphii have three pairs of cephalic appendages, which help them to swim, and when they become adult, these become antennules, the antennae and the mandibles.
The naupliar stage is very important among crustaceans, as they all have to pass through this larval stage. It has been observed that most of the crustaceans hatch as nauplius larvae, but almost all crustaceans hatch into a special type of crab larva and it is known as zoea. Nauplius is most commonly found during the time of summer and autumn. They slough their shell several times before they change into another type of larvae or adult appearance. The late nauplius stage is also known as metanauplii.

Barnacle Nauplius
A barnacle is a type of arthropod. It belongs to a class called Cirripedia in the subphylum Crustacea and is related to crabs and lobsters. They tend to live in shallow and tidal waters. There are 1220 barnacle species, which are known to human being.Barnacles, are usually fixed to a rocky surface. The larva goes through different swimming stages as plankton, before settling onto a rock. The adult barnacles are protected by four, six or eight calcareous plates, which look like a volcano. In addition, even two another two plates cover the top entrance. When feeding, these two plates open.

Reproduction and life cycles in Barnacle :
Generally, barnacles are simultaneous hermaphrodites, that mean each individual has both male and female reproductive systems. Some species self-fertilize if no partners are present, but most of the shallow water species cross-fertilize by means of internal fertilization.

Copepod Nauplius
Copepod Nauplius is a small group of crustaceans, which are found in the sea and nearly every freshwater habitat. Many of these species are planktonic and most of them are benthic. They live in wet places like swamps, underleaf fall in wet forests, bogs, springs, damp moss, etc. Many of them live underground in marine, sinkholes, streambeds and freshwater sea caves. Copepods have six natural stages in their life cycle followed by a stage called the copepodid. The copepodid has the same number of body segments and appendages. The larva of copepodid has two pairs of unsegmented swimming appendages, and an unsegmented �hind-body� comprising the thorax and the abdomen. It is found that there are five copepodid stages. The parasitic copepods normally stop after a single copepodid stage. Moreover, once the gonads get developed, there are no further moults.